New week

14 May

Well, it’s 11am Monday morning and I’m currently tapping away in an internet cafe in my home town of Edgware. I’m feeling bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, in spite of only having got three hours sleep last night, which is pretty standard for me! Yesterday, I felt absolutely grotty because I hadn’t slept a wink the previous night due to this nasty chesty cough which is apparently going around. I intended to post to my blog last night, but was just too fed up to get round to it. Today, the cough is marginally better, but more importantly, it’s the start of a new week (am I the only person to positively embrace Mondays?) with all the promise that that holds. I can forget about the failures of the previous week (such as not reaching my target weight loss!) and concentrate on tring to achieve all the things on my to-do list. Procrastination is my worst enemy, although that isn’t usually a problem until about late afternoon, as I’m definitely a lark as opposed to a night owl. Well, I AM up a lot in the wee small hours because for the last six months I’ve suffered from chronic insomnia, but that’s definitely not when I feel at my most productive or creative (understatement!).

Back again 🙂 Just had a chicken burger and rice to eat in a cafe, a few doors away and I’m now feeling well-nourished and ready to write some more. I’m looking forward to my beginners Italian course, at the City Lit (Holborn) tonight because there was no class last week, due to the bank holiday. The other students seem to be a friendly bunch and there’s plenty of chance for interaction during role-plays. Will have to leave from either Canons Park or Edgware tube today at 4:45pm because it takes about an hour to get to Holborn. The course finishes at 9pm, which means I won’t be back until at least 10pm – so I won’t get a chance to update my blog until tomorrow morning. Sadly, I no longer have broadband at home and my computer is extremely ancient  and dusty.

Well, it’s now 4:30pm and I’m starting to feel a little restless. I really must try to find some voluntary work to do on the days when I don’t have college in the mornings or afternoons, so that I can have more face-to-face interaction with people.  I’ve replied to a couple of e-mails earlier and this afternoon, I had a nice telephone conversation with my older sister, this afternoon but I really am looking forward to my class tonight where I’ll get the chance to chat to my fellow students. I havn’t done much in the way of exercise yet today, so I think I’ll go for an invigorating fifteen minute long brisk walk in a few minutes. I really must do at least fifteen minutes of moderate exertion a day because it’s vital that I do something to try and decrease my blood pressure, which is worryingly high. Ater that, it”ll be time to catch the train, which will definitely boost my mood. I love travelling by tube, I’m an unashamed people-watcher and I love to surreptitiously observe all the species of Londoners that can be found on the underground. When I get bored with that, then I can always entertain myself with my new kindle. How I ever got by without one, I’ll never know. I’ve already downloaded some free classics that I’ve been meaning to read, plus I’ve bought  a couple of motivational books and a few novels. I was up until about 3am this morning, finishing the latest installment of the Amazon bestselling series ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ and am now feeling a bit bereft, because I’ve been really captivated by them all this week.  .Although extremely popular, admittedly they’re not to everyone’s taste, but if you consider yourself broad-minded and you like characters that possess psychological depth, you could do worse than check them out. Many people have noted the similarity between these and the Twilight series of books, but these are, how shall we say, aimed at a slightly more adult audience! Anyway, I don’t think I’ve enjoyed a trilogy of books so much since I finished reading the excellent Millennium series by Stieg Larsson and I can’t wait until the film version of ‘Fifty Shades’ is made.

I’m really running late now – it’s after ten to five, so I’m going to have to abandon this bl0g until tomorrow. To anyone reading this ‘Ciao for now’ Please come back again soon 🙂

Leave a comment